top of page

Our history

The Centre  régional de Loisirs cuturels inc. is a non-profit organization that greatly contributes to the development of the regional Francophone community.

 

Located in the heart of Northern Ontario, halfway between Hearst and Cochrane on road 11, the Centre régional de Loisirs culturels inc. of Kapuskasing is a unique cultural and recreational service center for the community. The Center serves a French-speaking population estimated at approximately 9,000 people, extending from Opasatika to Smooth Rock Falls, including not only the urban population of Kapuskasing but also that of the surrounding villages without any comparable municipal or community services. Led by a board of directors made up of nine elected members, supported by ten permanent employees, approximately four hundred volunteers and five hundred and fifty members, the Center has become, over the years, the pillar of the regional Francophonie. Several committees made up of volunteers and permanent staff meet periodically to plan, execute and evaluate artistic, cultural, social and sports programming. 

Historical

The Centre régional de Loisirs cultuels inc. gradually developed. Equipped with technically well-equipped rooms, the Center now presents a range of activities ranging from shows, exhibitions, workshops to running courses. It organizes social evenings, as well as thematic and educational activities, in addition to promoting local and regional artists and artisans. The Center campaigns for funds, supports and encourages innovative projects to ensure its survival.

 

  • The Center was founded in 1969 and incorporated in January 1973.

  • The Center really started in 1971 when the Club Richelieu offered it the building that previously housed the Académie d'Youville to carry out its mandate.

  • In 1974, the Center bought the Club Richelieu building and undertook a major renovation.

  • On April 20, 1980, it was the official opening of the new building located at 7, ave Aurora.

  • On July 16, 1990, the Board of Directors retained the services of the firm Osburn Cotnam Bélair to carry out a feasibility study concerning the expansion of the Center (study completed on September 16, 1991).

  • In 1995, the Catholic Separate School Board agreed to transfer the land required for the expansion. Two squash courts, a stained glass workshop, a carpentry workshop and an amphitheater are added to the existing structure.

The Kapuskasing Regional Centre de Loisirs has the mandate to initiate, sponsor and organize activities essential to the development of the Francophone and Francophile community in the region (awareness, animation, participation, creation and development).

The Centre de Loisirs aims to develop, safeguard and disseminate the artistic, cultural, linguistic, socio-community and sporting aspects of the local, regional and provincial Francophone population. It therefore wants to be the place of meetings, activities and groups for people of all ages who share common interests, that is to say, who wish to live and create in French, in order to preserve and develop their language, culture and heritage.

bottom of page

Notre histoire

Le Centre régional de Loisirs culturels inc. est un organisme à but non lucratif qui contribue largement à l'évolution et à l'épanouissement de la communauté francophone régionale.

 

Situé en plein cœur du Nord ontarien, à mi-chemin entre Hearst et Cochrane sur la route 11, le Centre régional de Loisirs culturels inc. de Kapuskasing est pour la communauté, un centre de services unique en matière culturelle et récréative. Le Centre dessert une population francophone estimée à environ 9,000 personnes, s'étendant d'Opasatika à Smooth Rock Falls, incluant non seulement la population urbaine de Kapuskasing mais aussi celle des villages environnants ne disposant d'aucun service municipal ou communautaire comparable. Dirigé par un conseil d'administration composé de neuf membres élus, appuyés de dix employés permanents, d'environ quatre cents bénévoles et de cinq cent cinquante membres, le Centre est devenu, au fil des ans, le pilier de la francophonie régionale. Plusieurs comités formés de bénévoles et de permanents se rencontrent périodiquement pour planifier, exécuter et évaluer la programmation artistique, culturelle, sociale et sportive. 

Historique

Le Centre régional de Loisirs culturels inc. s'est développé progressivement. Munis de salles bien équipées techniquement, le Centre présente aujourd'hui un éventail d'activités allant de spectacles, d'expositions, d'ateliers jusqu'à l'animation de cours. Il met sur pied des soirées sociales, ainsi que des activités thématiques et éducatives, en plus de promouvoir les artistes et artisans locaux et régionaux. Le Centre fait des campagnes de financement, appui et encourage les projets innovateurs pour assurer sa survie.

 

  • Le Centre a été fondé en 1969 et incorporé en janvier 1973.

  • Le Centre a réellement demarré en 1971 quand le Club Richelieu lui a offert l'édifice qui abritait antérieurement l'Académie d'Youville pour réaliser son mandat.

  • En 1974, le Centre achète l'édifice du Club Richelieu et entreprend une grande rénovation.

  • Le 20 avril 1980, c'est l'ouverture officielle du nouvel édifice situé au 7, ave Aurora.

  • Le 16 juillet 1990, le conseil d'administration retient les services de la firme Osburn Cotnam Bélair pour effectuer une étude de faisabilité concernant l'agrandissement du Centre (étude complétée le 16 septembre 1991).

  • En 1995, le conseil des écoles séparées catholiques accepte de transférer les terrains requis pour l'expansion. Deux terrains de squash, un atelier de vitrail, un atelier de menuiserie et un amphithéâtre sont ajoutés à la structure existante.

Le Centre régional de Loisirs culturels de Kapuskasing a pour mandat d’initier, de parrainer et d’organiser des activités essentielles à l’épanouissement de la communauté francophone et francophile de la région (sensibilisation, animation, participation, création et développement).

Le Centre de Loisirs vise à développer, à sauvegarder et à diffuser les aspects artistiques, culturels, linguistiques, socio-communautaires et sportifs de la population francophone locale, régionale et provinciale. Il veut donc être le lieu de rencontres, d’activités et de regroupements pour des gens de tout âge qui partagent des intérêts communs, c’est-à-dire, qui désirent vivre et créer en français, afin de préserver et de faire évoluer leur langue, leur culture et leur patrimoine.